Back to top

Resolutions of Appreciation

Resolutions of Appreciation

The Society for Freshwater Science (SFS) recognizes that the many contributions and services its members provide to SFS, the field of freshwater science, and society at large, while deserving of appreciation, frequently go unnoticed. The Board of Directors, in response to a request from a Society member or members, may therefore occasionally issue a Resolution of Appreciation to recognize a member’s contributions to the field of freshwater science. The drafting of the resolution is the responsibility of the member(s) requesting it; should accompany an important life transition of the nominee, such as retirement; and should emphasize the nominee’s contributions to SFS, freshwater science, and society. The Board of Directors may modify the resolution before it is issued. Resolutions of appreciation are to be adopted by consensus, are announced through the society’s publication, and read by the Secretary at the membership Business Meeting of the Society’s Annual Meeting.

Irwin Polls

Petition for Resolution of Appreciation for Irwin Polls We the undersigned request that Irwin Polls be recognized with a Resolution of Appreciation for his significant and sustained service as Business Manager for the Journal of Freshwater Science. From 1985 until 2019, over 30 years, Irwin dedicated himself to ensuring the financial longevity and success of our journal. His responsibilities over the years have been too numerous to list, but they included journal finance management, planning, budgeting, procurement oversight, and reporting. His careful management produced a financial surplus that has been very beneficial for the journal. Irwin bridged the journal and society business by engaging the Finance Committee, Board of Directors, Editorial Board, and the University Chicago Press (and earlier, Allen Press). In fact, he was among the leadership responsible for the acquisition of Freshwater Invertebrate Biology in 1985 that became the Journal of the North American Benthological Society in 1986 and more recently the Journal of Freshwater Science. Over his tenure, Irwin has worked with Freshwater Science editors to grow the journal into an internationally recognized resource for freshwater scientists, and to provide for its ongoing financial stability. We are grateful for his service.

Respectfully submitted: Society for Freshwater Science Board of Directors, May 5, 2019

Margaret (Peggy) Morgan

We the undersigned request that Peggy Morgan be recognized with a Resolution of Appreciation for her long service to the Society for Freshwater Science. From 1994 until 2018, Peggy was solely responsible for soliciting award donations from sponsors and arranging the judging of student papers and posters at annual meetings. She worked tirelessly to solicit large numbers of SFS members to serve as judges for literally hundreds of student papers at each annual meeting, thereby ensuring that all students received professional evaluations of their work, and in most cases a one-on-one discussion with one or more reviewers. These evaluations served as the basis for student awards for best papers and best posters, and were fundamental to the student award process. Not only did Peggy solicit the judges, but in addition she was the one who made contact with individual vendors and sponsors on a yearly basis, and thereby was responsible for obtaining the funds to pay for student awards from the time she began to do it until recently when the Society assumed responsibility for funding most student awards. Peggy is now retiring (“to watch butterflies”), and the increasing large and arduous task of organizing student awards, which a single person can no longer reasonably do, will likely be automated in the future. For her years of service to the Society for Freshwater Science in the solicitation of student awards and management of the judging of student presentations, and the great services she has provided to students of the SFS, we enthusiastically recommend a Resolution of Appreciation for Peggy Morgan.

Respectfully submitted: David Allan, Kim Haag, Lucinda Johnson, Michael Swift, 27 March 2019.

BOD Statement of Appreciation for Peggy Morgan

The Society for Freshwater Science Board of Directors accept the Letter of Appreciation for Peggy Morgan submitted by David Allan, Kim Haag, Lucinda Johnson, and Michael Swift on 27 March 2019. Peggy was the sole award donations solicitation and organizer for hundreds of student awards for 24 years. The Society is grateful for her service.