Back to top

Society for Freshwater Science Fellows

SFS Fellows

Deadline: 15 March of each year

Inaugural SFS Fellows (2017).

About the Fellows Program

The SFS Fellows program began with an inaugural class of 30 Fellows in 2017, drawn from previous recipients of the Award of Excellence and the Environmental Stewardship Award. Hereafter SFS Fellows are selected based on sustained excellence in contributions to freshwater science research, policy, or management. Only four Fellows can be selected each year in accordance with the current SFS Bylaws; however that number may be increased in future years, pending membership approval of proposed revisions to the SFS Bylaws.

All Fellows should be regular members of the society, and Fellows are encouraged to participate in SFS activities, individually or as a group, in ways they feel they can make a positive contribution based on their status as Fellows.

Recipients of the Award of Excellence and the Environmental Stewardship Award will become Fellows the following year if they are not already Fellows.  This does not apply for 2018 because the Award of Excellence was given to Walter Dodds (already a Fellow) and the Environmental Stewardship Award was given to the late David Lenat.

Nomination Procedure

Any SFS member can nominate a Fellow. Nomination of people from underrepresented groups as well as mid-career members is strongly encouraged to increase the diversity of SFS Fellows.

All candidates nominated for, but not receiving, the Award of Excellence and the Environmental Stewardship Award in the previous year will also automatically be considered as candidates.

The deadline for nomination will coincide with nomination deadlines for the other SFS awards (March 15, 2018), and nominations will be accepted through the same portal used for award nominations. Nominate here.

2017 Fellows

Cliff Dahm Ken Cummins Jack Webster
Dave Penrose Jerry Jacobi Margaret Palmer
Rich Merritt Bob Hughes Jim Karr
James Ward Vince Resh Walter Dodds
Dave Allan Colin Townsend Art Benke
Ben Stout Michael Barbour Wayne Minshall
Jack Stanford Sam Lake Bruce Wallace
Jim Harrington Steven Hamilton Judy Meyer
Bobbi Peckarsky Stuart Fisher Susan Jackson