Back to top

2020 Fellows Announced

Wednesday, March 4, 2020


Fellows to be Recognized at Annual Meeting in June 

MARCH 4, 2020  — The Society for Freshwater Science is pleased to announce its 2020 Fellows.

“SFS Fellows are those who have led, shaped, and inspired the field of freshwater science,” said Dr. Amy Rosemond, president of the Society. “These scientists have been recognized for game-changing contributions to our field.  They have pushed the boundaries of freshwater science in research, teaching, policy, and management and have advanced our understanding in these areas. They have also built and supported networks of scientific collaboration, increasing the capacity and reach of our science.  All of our work is stronger as a result of their contributions.”

This is the third year of the Fellows program and each class of Fellows is chosen by past Fellows. The 2020 Fellows include: 

  • Emily Bernhardt, James B. Duke Professor of Biogeochemistry in the Duke University Department of Biology. Bernhardt formerly served as the president of the Society from 2016-2017.
  • Lucinda Johnson, Associate Director of the Natural Resources Research Institute at the University of Minnesota. Johnson formerly served as the president of the Society from 2010-2011.
  • Jennifer Tank, Galla Professor of Biological Sciences at the University of Notre Dame and Director of the Notre Dame Environmental Change Initiative.  Tank formerly served as the president of the Society from 2018-2019.
  • Valeria Souza, Professor at the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México’s Institute of Ecology and recipient of the 2020 Environmental Stewardship Award.
  • R. Jan Stevenson, Professor in the Department of Integrative Biology at Michigan State University. Stevenson formerly serves as the president of the Society from 2007-2008.

“We find that taking the time to recognize and celebrate the incredible work that our members and others are doing re-energizes us all,” said Dr. Alonso Ramirez, president-elect of the Society. “Personally, I cannot wait to congratulate them and share their work more broadly.” 

The Fellows will be formally recognized and will receive their medal during the Society for Freshwater Science’s annual meeting in a plenary session scheduled for Thursday, June 11 from 9-11 a.m. More about the Fellows program and accolades of the 2020 class can be found at