Back to top

Benthos News

Diatom Taxonomic Certification Committee expands the Diatom Web Academy series

Monday, May 4, 2020

Diatom Taxonomic Certification Committee expands the Diatom Web Academy series
Sarah Spaulding, Sylvia Lee, Meredith Tyree

The Diatom Taxonomic Certification Committee (TCC) has been meeting over the past year and a half, developing the Level 1 Diatom Taxonomic Certification exam. The exam is in place and the Diatom TCC is continuing to contribute to goals in the SFS strategic plan to diversify membership, support professional development of members, and increase the number of certified taxonomists.

2020 John H. Martin Award

Friday, January 10, 2020

The Association for the Sciences of Limnology and Oceanography presents the John H. Martin Award to one paper each year that has led to fundamental shifts in research focus and interpretation of a large body of previous observations. The 2020 John H. Martin Award is for “Contributions of benthic algae to lake food webs as revealed by stable isotope analysis” by Bob Hecky and Ray Hesslein. The award will be presented in June 2020 at the ASLO-SFS Summer Meeting in Madison, Wisconsin.

Career Award & Fellows nominations now open

Saturday, July 20, 2019

Career Award and SFS Fellow nominations are open!  This is your chance to shine a spotlight on a colleague’s lasting contributions to freshwater science and our society.  

Nominations close November 15.

Nominations are being accepted for four awards:  

Award of Excellence: awarded to a single recipient (Society member or non-member) for outstanding contributions to benthic science. The scope of the award encompasses the broad interests and expertise exhibited in the Society. 


Subscribe to RSS - Benthos News