Back to top


Thursday, March 11, 2021

MARCH 11, 2021 — The Society for Freshwater Science is pleased to announce its 2021 Fellows. 

“SFS Fellows are those who have led, shaped, and inspired the field of freshwater science,” said Dr. Alonso Ramirez, president of the Society. “These scientists have been recognized for game-changing contributions to our field. They have pushed the boundaries of freshwater science in research, teaching, policy, and management and have advanced our understanding in these areas. They have also built and supported networks of scientific collaboration, increasing the capacity and reach of our science. All of our work is stronger as a result of their contributions.” 

This is the fourth year of the Fellows program and each class of Fellows is chosen by past Fellows. The 2021 Fellows include: 

  • Leonard Ferrington, Professor in the Department of Entomology at the University of Minnesota. Ferrington research focuses on the significance of Chironomidae in aquatic ecosystems. He has been a continuous member of SFS since 1974 and has served in various positions in the society, including President in 1989-1990.
  • Mary Freeman, ecologist with the U.S. Geological Survey and is dedicated to communication and connection with water managers and stakeholders. Freeman is also the recipient of the 2021 Environmental Stewardship Award.
  • Judith Li, associate professor of fisheries (retired). Li’s research interests focused on riparian food webs, examining macroinvertebrates as resources for aquatic and terrestrial predators in mesic and semi-arid watersheds. In her retirement, Li has written several books encouraging the understanding of science by lay audiences, including elementary-aged students. 
  • John Morse, internationally renowned caddisfly systematist studying the identification, biology, and evolution of Trichoptera worldwide since 1967. Morse is a SFS Distinguished Service Awardee and a founder and Co-Chair of the SFS Taxonomic Certification Committee. 
  • Alan Steinman, Allen and Helen Hunting Director of the Annis Water Resources Institute at Grand Valley University. Steinman’s current research interests include the study and mitigation of internal phosphorus loading in lakes and wetland ecosystems, valuation of aquatic ecosystem services, and cyanotoxin impacts in the Great Lakes and China.
  • Caryn Vaughn, George Lynn Cross Distinguished Research Professor and Presidential Professor in the Department of Biology and Oklahoma Biological Survey at the University of Oklahoma. Over the past 30 years, integrative research in her laboratory has demonstrated that mussels are hotspots of biological activity in rivers, providing biogenic habitat and modifying sediments, filtering the water, and storing and recycling nutrients. 

The Fellows will be formally recognized and will receive their medal during the Society for Freshwater Science’s annual meeting in a plenary session scheduled for Tuesday, May 25 from 12-1:30 p.m. More about the Fellows program and accolades of the 2021 class can be found at

The Society for Freshwater Science is a premier international organization for aquatic scientists and anyone interested in freshwater science. For more about the Society for Freshwater Science, visit