Back to top

2020 Career Awards Announced

Tuesday, March 3, 2020


MARCH 3, 2020  — The Society for Freshwater Science is pleased to announce the honorees of four Career Awards. 

“Our Career Awards recognize outstanding contributions in advancing freshwater science through research, translating this science into policy or social action, and service to SFS,” said Dr. Amy Rosemond, president of the Society. “These four scholars and leaders have all exhibited excellence in their varied contributions to our field, improving our understanding of freshwater resources, and advancing the goals of our Society as a whole.”    

The 2020 Career Award winners are: 

Distinguished Service Award: Michael C. Swift. The Distinguished Service Award honors those who have made a genuine and lasting contribution to the betterment of the Society. For the past 14 years, Swift has effectively and tirelessly served SFS as Society Treasurer and as a member of the SFS Executive Committee. 

Award of Excellence: J. Denis Newbold. The Award of Excellence honors someone who has made outstanding contributions to freshwater science. The scope of the award reflects the broad interests and expertise exhibited in the Society. Newbold is a Research Scientist Emeritus at the Stroud Water Research Center in Avondale, Pennsylvania and his work has inspired generations of scientists.

Environmental Stewardship Award: Valeria Souza. The Environmental Stewardship Award recognizes someone who has worked successfully to translate scientific knowledge into the social/public arena. Souza’s research and work documenting the biodiversity of the Cuatro Ciénegas area of northern Mexico is helping bring awareness to the region, which is facing increasing pressure to extract groundwater from the spring-fed wetland complex.

Hynes Award for New Investigators: Amanda Subalusky. The Hynes Award honors a freshwater scientist who was senior author of an outstanding primary publication that appeared in print in the last three calendar years. Subalusky is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Biology at the University of Florida. 

More about the Career Awards and the 2020 awardees can be found at The Society for Freshwater Science is a premier international organization for aquatic scientists and anyone interested in freshwater science. For more about the Society for Freshwater Science, visit