Back to top

Hynes Award

Hynes Award for New Investigators

Nomination Form

Daniel Nelson - 2019

Dr. Daniel Nelson is a community and ecosystem ecologist who is broadly interested in the effects of climate change on freshwater ecosystems. He uses a combination of observational and experimental approaches to answer both applied and theoretical questions related to this subject. Daniel first completed his MS at the University of Idaho and then his PhD at the University of Alabama, where he worked with Dr. Jonathan Benstead on a whole-stream warming experiment in southwest Iceland investigating the effects of warming on stream invertebrate communities and food webs. He was selected for the Hynes award based on his publication resulting from this work, which showed that although warming may reassemble invertebrate communities and lower total invertebrate density, it may have a neutral effect on standing biomass due to changes in the size structure of the community: Nelson et al. 2017. Experimental whole-stream warming alters community size structure. Global Change Biology 23: 2618-2628, doi: 10.1111/gcb.13574. Daniel is currently a Postdoctoral Researcher in Dr. Dan Allen’s lab at the University of Oklahoma, where he is continuing his studies on the effects of climate change on freshwater ecosystems.

About the Award

The Hynes Award for New Investigators will be awarded to a benthic scientist who was senior author of an outstanding primary publication in benthic science that appeared in print in the last 3 years (i.e., 2012 to availability online by 31 December 2014). The recipient must have received a terminal post-graduate degree within the last five years, and cannot currently be enrolled in a degree program. Nominations should consist of a letter explaining why the paper was outstanding, a curriculum vitae to verify that the nominee satisfies the criteria, and a copy of the paper for the committee to evaluate (all in pdf form). Additional letters of support are unnecessary and repeat nomination of papers is encouraged as long as they still satisfy the award criteria. Submit your nominations using the SFS Awards Nomination Portal linked at the top of this page.


2000  Robert O. Hall Jr.

2001 Michelle A. Baker

2002 David A. Lytle

2003  Bradley J. Cardinale

2004 Emily S. Bernhardt

2005  Colden V. Baxter

2006 Jack Brookshire

2007 Brad W. Taylor

2008 Peter B. McIntyre

2009 Brian Roberts

2010 John Davis

2011 Debra S. Finn

2012 Ronald D. Bassar (award talk)

2013 Michael T. Bogan

2014 Daniel C. Allen

2015 Carla L. Atkinson

2016 Erin R. Hotchkiss

2018 Amanda DelVecchia