Back to top

Award of Excellence

Award of Excellence

Nomination Form

J. Denis Newbold - 2020


Denis is a Research Scientist Emeritus at the Stroud Water Research Center in Avondale, PA. He studied at Swarthmore (BS, engineering), Cornell (MS, hydrology), and Berkeley (PhD, aquatic ecology). His post-doc at Oak Ridge National Laboratory introduced him to Jack Webster’s (then) new concept of stream nutrient spiraling. He moved to the Stroud Center in 1983.

Denis has been described as an ecologist, a modeler, a hydrologist, and as an expert in nutrient dynamics, watershed processes, and hydrodynamics. His research on nutrient spiraling has been at the forefront of stream ecology for over 35 years. That work has influenced an entire generation of stream scientists who today approach investigations of the movement and utilization of resources in streams using his theoretical and operational framework. The metrics put forth by Denis in the area of stream biogeochemistry have been shown to be robust, meaningful, and repeatable, and are now considered fundamental measures of ecosystem function.

In addition to his long-term career interest in spiraling, Denis has studied the role of riparian forest buffers in intercepting the delivery of nutrients and sediments to streams and preserving stream geomorphology, habitat, and ecosystem processes. Denis’s drive to identify meaningful questions in our science, and to be correct in what he says and writes in pursuit of answers to those questions has resulted in body of work rich with significant discoveries that continue to guide and inspire.

About the Award

The SFS AoE is awarded to a single recipient for outstanding contributions to freshwater science. The scope of the award will reflect the broad interests and expertise exhibited in the Society. The award is not limited to members of the Society. Nominations of people from underrepresented groups are strongly encouraged to increase the diversity of SFS Awardees.  Submit your nominations using the SFS Awards Nomination Portal linked at the top of this page.


  • 2019 | LeRoy Poff
  • 2018 | Mary Power
  • 2017 | Walter K. Dodds
  • 2016 | Clifford Dahm
  • 2015 | Margaret A. Palmer
  • 2014 | Colin R. Townsend
  • 2013 | Richard Norris
  • 2012 | Arthur Benke
  • 2011 | Patrick Mulholland
  • 2010 | William Hilsenoff
  • 2009 | J. David Allan
  • 2008 | Bobbi Peckarsky
  • 2007 | Richard Merritt
  • 2006 | Jack Webster
  • 2005  | Vincent Resh
  • 2004 | Jack Stanford
  • 2003  | Judy L. Meyer
  • 2002 | P. Sam Lake
  • 2001 | James V. Ward
  • 2000  | George F. Edmunds
  • 1999  | J. Bruce Wallace
  • 1998  | Stuart G. Fisher
  • 1997 | Kenneth W. Stewart
  • 1996 | Oliver S. Flint
  • 1995 | Rosemary J. Mackay
  • 1994 | G. Wayne Minshall
  • 1993 | Ralph O. Brinkhurst
  • 1992 | Ruth Patrick
  • 1991 | Robert W. Pennak
  • 1990 | Kenneth W. Cummins
  • 1989 | Thomas F. Waters
  • 1988 | H. B. Noel Hynes